## LOWER SAUCON TOWNSHIP

## **RESOLUTION #40-2009**

## RESOLUTION RECOMMENDING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A JOINT RAIL TRAIL ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE SEPTA RAIL LINE AND AUTHORIZING THE APPOINTMENT OF MUNICIPAL REPRESENTATIVES TO THE COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, Lower Saucon Township, Upper Saucon Township, Hellertown Borough and Coopersburg Borough are currently negotiating with the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) to secure a lease agreement on the abandoned SEPTA rail line that runs through the four (4) municipalities; and

WHEREAS, if these negotiations are successful, the municipalities intend to utilize the rail line property as individual linear parks in each municipality that would be opened to the public for recreational activities such as walking, biking, horseback riding, etc.; and

WHEREAS, to oversee the initial development of the trail and to provide ongoing direction for the operation and maintenance of the rail trail it is imperative that a Joint Rail Trail Advisory Committee be formed; and

**WHEREAS**, this Joint Rail Trail Advisory Committee would act in an advisory capacity to the municipal Supervisors and Councils and would serve as the liaison between residents and elected officials in each municipality on matters relating to the operation and maintenance of the trail; and

WHEREAS, the Joint Rail Trail Advisory Committee should be comprised of at least two (2) representatives appointed by each of the municipalities with staff and consultants designated, as needed, by each municipality; and

**WHEREAS**, the Joint Rail Trail Advisory Committee shall hold publicly advertised meetings on a regular rotational basis in each of the municipalities.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Council of Lower Saucon Township, Glenn Kern, President; Thomas Maxfield, Vice President; Priscilla deLeon, Council Member; Sandra Yerger, Council Member; and Ronald Horiszny, Council Member; do recommend the establishment and formation of the Joint Rail Trail Advisory Committee with representatives appointed from each municipality.

ADOPTED and ENACTED this 18th day of March, 2009.

Attest

Lower Saucon Township

Jack Cahalan

Glenn C. Kern

Council President