LOWER SAUCON TOWNSHIP

RESOLUTION #40-2020

RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND HONORING PEACE OFFICERS FOR THEIR BRAVERY, DEDICATION, AND HEROISM AND DESIGNATING MAY 15, 2020, AS "PEACE OFFICERS MEMORIAL DAY" AND MAY 10 – 16, 2020, AS "POLICE WEEK" IN LOWER SAUCON TOWNSHIP

WHEREAS, in 1962, Congress authorized and President Kennedy proclaimed May 15th of each year "Peace Officers Memorial Day" in honor of the Federal, State, and Municipal officers who have been killed or disabled in the line of duty, further designating the calendar week in which May 15th falls as "Police Week," and has directed that flags be flown at half-staff on "Peace Officers Memorial Day"; and

WHEREAS, in every community, law enforcement officers are committed to the preservation of life and property, risking their lives to protect us by providing law and order, and serving the cause of justice; and

WHEREAS, law enforcement officers, including members of the Lower Saucon Township Police Department, accept a profound responsibility and work to uphold our laws, safeguard our rights and our freedoms; and

WHEREAS, we honor the heroism and dedication of all law enforcement officers, especially those who have paid the ultimate price with their lives; and

WHEREAS, across the nation, Police Week is observed with ceremonies, including the hanging of a blue bow or ribbon to honor law enforcement officers who have sacrificed their lives in the line of duty and to honor those who still strive to keep us safe; and

WHEREAS, all citizens are encouraged to express their deep appreciation to the men and women who risk their lives to guard and protect us.

NOW, **THEREFORE**, **BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Council of Lower Saucon Township, Sandra Yerger, President; Jason Banonis, Vice President; Tom Carocci, Priscilla deLeon, and Kristen Stauffer, Council Members; wish to recognize and honor peace officers for their bravery, dedication, and heroism, and that May 15, 2020 be designated as "Peace Officers Memorial Day" and May 10 – 16, 2020 as "Police Week" in Lower Saucon Township.

ADOPTED and **ENACTED** this 15th day of April, 2020.

Attest:	Lower Saucon Township
Leslie Huhn	Sandra B. Yerger
Secretary	Council President